“Sex & Cupcakes” by Rachel Kramer Bussel stops by on its blog tour!

I first saw Rachel Kramer Bussel’s work in anthologies of erotica.

I should clarify; I’m choosey when it comes to my literary smut. I’m not one of those people who loves reading descriptions of two people eating in an erotica anthology. It may be absolutely delicious writing, and I love that, but when I pick up an anthology of sexy writing, I want to read about sex. I want to read about people connecting, physically and emotionally and sensually. If that great meal is prelude to some high class (or low class) fucking, then brilliant. But otherwise–it’s just not my preference.

I’ve loved Rachel Kramer Bussel’s anthologies for fulfilling both of these categories–exquisite writing combined with stories that leave me needing some serious personal time with my toys. So when I had the opportunity to read a pre-release copy of Sex & Cupcakes and participate in the blog tour, I leapt at it.

Like many women, I grew up on Cosmo and Seventeen and Sassy, and it’s only been recently that I’ve started to find people my age who look at sex like I do. Who think it’s messy and wonderful, and sometimes way too much to handle. That it’s hysterically funny when sweaty bellies make that farting sound, and that if your partner can’t laugh at that with you, then they are probably going to end up being a really lousy lay.

Sex & Cupcakes

Sex & Cupcakes, like all good sexy writing, engages and challenges me to rethink what is hot. We find out how Kramer straddles the dichotomy of the real-world her, and the one online, the one who, as she puts it, has three names. She holds nothing back, talking about how she got started in this industry, the comments that people make in regards to her boyfriend, who is overweight, her struggles with orgasms being the be-all-end-all of sex, and why she doesn’t need a spreadsheet in the bedroom. She thinks about sex in a way that feels familiar, friendly, and open to me. If Dr. Ruth was a tiny old lady scolding you about sex, Sex & Cupcakes invites you over for coffee, tosses your coat onto a hook, then invites you to flop on the couch and tell it what you really think about the date you had last night.

While I love Kramer Brussel’s anthologies with a passionate that one could probably write erotica about, I hope that this is only the first of many excellent works on modern sex from this exquisite writer.

Sex & Cupcakes is available on Amazon and iTunes. For more stops on the blog tour, look here.

Leave a Reply

