I’ve been too serious.

And there’s only so much seriousness a person can take.

So! Today I’m going to talk about a word that I hate.

By Mauro Cateb (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By Mauro Cateb (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Now, I very much subscribe to the George Carlin school of language. “There are no bad words. There are bad thoughts…bad people…and woooooooooooooooooooooords.” I hate the term “bad word.” I tell my kids that certain words aren’t appropriate for a given situation (i.e. don’t repeat any of the things Mama says after she drops her coffee at school or in front of Grandma, thanks), but I don’t chastise them particularly for using words.

But there are words I like more than other words. And there are some words I don’t like.

My least favorite word lately: cum.

Yetch.

Funny one for an erotica writer, I know, but I hate it. I have since my Mulder/Scully fanfiction writing days. I hate it like other people hate moist. I don’t want you to cum in my mouth, I don’t want pre-cum in my hand, and for the love of GOD don’t cum on me. If you shout “I’m cumming,” this reading relationship is over.

Why do I hate cum so much? No clue. I’m not normally one for flowery language. Get out of here with your sword of his manhood and the flower of her lust. But I will talk about the fluid of his arousal, the pearl of wetness on his tip, and I’m constantly going on and on about people coming (although I still have no respect for announcers; if I can’t tell from other signs, you’re doing it wrong). But seriously, I’d rather hear about his jizz, his load, or even (if you can imagine it) his semen than his cum.

What words turn you right off?

Leave a Reply

