And here’s where I find myself.

Six months ago, I quit my day job to embark on a career as a freelance writer.

It wasn’t my first choice, if you can believe it. I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was a little kid, but I always figured I’d have to maintain a day job, squeezing the words in between dinner and bedtime. I actually started freelancing in 2012, making enough income in that first year that I needed to claim it on my taxes.

But then, life happened, as it is wont to do. My husband and I had been piecing together childcare for a lot of years, and too many pieces came apart at once. The logical solution became for me to leave my job, and see what I could do about making this writing gig go full time.

license free image downloaded from pixabay
it would be better if it were a fountain pen.

I’ve been moderately successful at it for six months now. By moderately successful, I mean that we’ve mostly managed to pay our bills with his job and my writing. I mean that I have stories in two anthologies, one published and one forthcoming, and that I have a book contract with Ellora’s Cave. I have feelings about Ellora’s Cave based on the rumor mill that is churning fullsteam right now about the company, but I’m still excited that Sweet Mistake will be available on 10/10/14.

I hope to be here every other day or so, and I hope you’ll join me.

2 thoughts on “And here’s where I find myself.”

Leave a Reply

